Thierry Neuville takes the lead!
Thierry Neuville & Nicolas Gilsoul © DPPI

Thierry Neuville takes the lead!


By winning for the first time in Portugal, the 2017 World Rally Vice-Champion takes the lead of the overall standings.

2: As the numbers of M-Sport Ford’s cars on the podium of the Vodafone Rally de Portugal. While the British team was seeing its leader Sébastien Ogier losing the rally after an accident in SS5 and the first overall place at the same time, the good performances of Elfyn Evans and Teemu Suninen, respectively second and third in Portugal, brought Malcolm Wilson’s team its smile back. If Elfyn Evans finally performed after a disappointing early season, the young Finnish driver climbed on the podium of a WRC event for the very first time!

3: As the numbers of WRC2 rallies seized by Pontus Tidemand this year. Winner in Portugal ahead of Łukasz Pieniążek and Stéphane Lefebvre, the Swedish driver widens the gap in the overall and is now 43 points away from his runner-up Jan Kopecky.

14:57.8: As the gap between Denis Rådström, winner in Portugal, and the second fastest at the end of the twenty stages of the event. Leader of the Junior World Rally Championship, the young Swedish has largely dominated his opponents and secured his third success of the season. After a long break, the JWRC will make its return from 26th to 29th July at Neste Rally Finland, penultimate stop of the season.

19: As the numbers of points separating Thierry Neuville from his runner-up Sébastien Ogier in the WRC overall standings. Winner in Portugal for the first time of his career, the Belgian driver benefits from the five-time World Champion’s withdrawal to take the WRC lead with a comfortable gap. After starting the event 10 points behind reigning champion Sébastien Ogier, Thierry Neuville didn’t miss this opportunity and scored an almost perfect result by winning four points in the Power Stage as well.

08-10/06: Round seven and next meeting of the season, the all-gravel Rally Italia Sardegna will take place in Alghero on 8 – 10 June. Won by Ott Tänak in 2017, the Italian event will open the second part of the season.

Follow us on Twitter