In unknown land!
Sébastien Ogier & Julien Ingrassia © DPPI

In unknown land!


Back in the World Rally Championship’s calendar, the Rally Turkey Marmaris welcomes the tenth round of the season this week (16-19 August) on a completely unseen route.

9: As the number of crews that still have a mathematical chance of winning the JWRC title. Since the Rally Turkey Marmaris is the last stop of the 2018 JWRC season, double points will be on offer at the end of the event. While there are 67 points left to claim in Turkey, the French driver Jean-Baptiste Franceschi, third in the overall standings 26 points behind the leader, is still in the run for the title.

23: As the number of points between Thierry Neuville and his runner-up Sébastien Oger in the WRC overall rankings. After the first nine stops of the year and while there are four events left before the end of the season, the Belgian driver is closer than ever to the title. Ott Tanäk, who won the two last events in Finland and Germany, has brought himself into play and looks now at the five-time World Champion’s second place (only 13 points between them).

30: As the average temperature expected near Marmaris, the Mediterranean port city, holiday resort and heart of the 2018 Rally Turkey. With unknown routes and conditions, the weather could have a major impact on the outcome of the 10th round of the season.

100%: As the percentage of the 2018 Rally Turkey’s route that has never been run during the past editions. Since the WRC has never previously visited this part of Turkey, the crews will live a brand new experience. With 35% of the itinerary being timed, the crews will tackle an extremely compact layout, one of the most intense of the WRC calendar.

2010: As the year of the last Rally Turkey edition in WRC. Organized on this date near Istanbul, the event had been won by Sébastien Loeb and Daniel Elena with their Citroën C4 WRC. While the French duo is the more successful crew of the Rally Turkey with four victories, two of the four official manufacturers, Citroën and Ford, have already won the Turkish event.

Follow us on Twitter