Thank you VW!

Thank you VW!


Volkswagen Motorsport formalized today his retirement from the World Rally Championship. After 4 years in WRC and the 4th title of Sébastien Ogier, the German manufacturer decided to leave the competition. Let’s have a look at a successful path with a few numbers…

2: In 4 years and 51 rallies competed in the World Rally Championship, only 2 podiums have not been reached by the Volkswagen Polo R WRC. It was during the ADAC Rally Deutschland 2013 and during the XION Rally Argentina 2015…

12: As the number of victories seized by the German manufacturer throughout the 2014 and 2015 seasons, thus breaking a new record of successes during one season. The old record was owned by Citroën Racing with 11 victories in 2005 and 2008.

42: As the number of wins grabbed by the German team in the World Rally Championship. Volkswagen Motorsport is currently standing at the 7th place among the most successful manufacturers in WRC.

76: Since his entry in WRC as official manufacturer, Volkswagen Motorsport participated in 51 rallies for 42 successes, representing an impressive ratio to 76%.

100: In 4 seasons, Volkswagen Motorsport gleaned 100% of faced-off titles. Since 2013, the German team confiscated the 12 available titles in WRC with 4 Manufacturers’ World Championship titles, 4 Co-drivers’ World Championship titles and 4 Drivers’ World Championship titles.

3 322: As the number of points acquired by Volkswagen drivers in the World Rally Championship. With 1495 and 1308 points (whose 1067 and 673 with Volkswagen), Sébastien Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvalla are currently 2nd and 3rd in the rankings gathering the drivers who scored the most points in their careers, just behind Sébastien Loeb and its 1625 points.

Follow us on Twitter