A Year, A Picture: Tour de Corse 1985

A Year, A Picture: Tour de Corse 1985


For the 29th edition of the Tour de Corse, 139 crews take the start on the Île de Beauté. The Renault 5 Maxi Turbo makes its first appearance in the World Rally Championship.

For this 29th edition, the layout goes from Ajaccio to Bastia, goes through Calvi and comes back to its starting point. More than 1600 kilometers constitute the rally, among which 1000 are timed kilometers. After two consecutive wins, Lancia misses the hat-trick. The Italian driver Attilio Bettega is unfortunately caught into a fatal accident with his Lancia Rally 037 during SS4. Markku Alén, winner in 1983 and 1984 with the very same vehicle, decides to retire after this dreadful incident.

Everyone is then waiting for Peugeot to dominate the race, with Bruno Saby’s Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 E2. However, Jean Ragnotti surprises with his Renault 5 Maxi Turbo, a car that nobody had seen coming because of its mediocre results in national competitions. Bruno Saby has to therefore settle for a podium, 10 minutes behind the winner. Ari Vatanen, at the wheel of the Peugeot 205 Turbo 16, loses more than 20 minutes over Jean Ragnotti after a driving mistake.

It is the third victory of a Renault on the Tour de Corse in the World Rally Championship, after 1973 and 1982. The carmaker will need another 10 years before winning this round again. As for Jean Ragnotti, he wins his second Tour de Corse. He does not know it yet, but it is his last podium on the island.


  1. Jean Ragnotti- Pierre Thimonier (Renault 5 Maxi Turbo)
  2. Bruno Saby- Jean-François Fauchille (Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 évo. 2)
  3. Bernard Béguin- Jean-Jacques Lenne (Porsche 911 SC RS)

Follow us on Twitter