A Year, A Picture 1986

A Year, A Picture 1986


122 crews start the 30th edition of the Tour de Corse in Ajaccio in May 1986. A duel between Peugeot and Lancia is supposed to give the pace to the 5th round of the WRC throughout Ajaccio, Bastia, Corte or Calvi.

The 1500 kilometers run in 1986 witness the last moments of the Group B on the Tour de Corse. The duel between Peugeot and Lancia quickly turns to the benefit of the latter at the beginning of the rally, with Henri Toivonen taking advantage over Bruno Saby during SS4. The Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 E2 and the Lancia Delta S4 dominate the other vehicles.

Leader of the Championship overall standings, Henri Toivonen takes the first position on this 1986 Tour de Corse by adding up the best times. In SS18, the Finnish driver leaves the road: he and his co-driver, Sergio Cresto, die instantly. The rest of the rally ends in grief, while the Italian carmaker retires its drivers. SS18, 19 and 20 are also cancelled.

Bruno Saby, at the wheel of the Peugeot 2015 Turbo 16 E2, wins the Tour de Corse for the first and last time in his career. It is also the first Peugeot victory in Corsica in WRC. The French manufacturer will have to wait the 2000 edition to triumph again on the island. 1986 is also the year that sees Yves Loubet, from Porto-Vecchio, score its first podium in the World Rally Championship.


  1. Bruno Saby – Jean-François Fauchille (Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 E2)
  1. François Chatriot- Michel Périn (Renault 5 Maxi Turbo)
  2. Yves Loubet- Jean-Marc Andrié (Alfa Romeo Alfetta GTV6)



Follow us on Twitter