END OF DAY 3  : Latvala keeps the lead
Jari-Matti Latvala © DPPI

END OF DAY 3 : Latvala keeps the lead


The Finnish driver proved again his talent on French roads this weekend. After winning the Rally de France-Alsace last year Jari-Matti Latvala set the best times again on the Tour de Corse 2015 in front of an unexpected Elfyn Evans and his Ford.

After taking the lead of the overall classification at the end of the second leg, Jari-Matti Latvala secured his position over the three stages of the final day. The crews expected some dry conditions but eventually had to face some very damp portions especially at the start of the first stage of the day Sotta – Chialza. The grip was obviously difficult to find over the 36,71 kilometres of stage 7. In those delicate conditions the Volkswagen drivers managed their way and signed a 1-2-3 scratch with Sébastien Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala, and Andreas Mikkelsen. That performance allowed Jari-Matti to increase his lead over Elfyn Evans, sixth in that stage.

The second stage of the day – Zérubia – Martini – gave an opportunity for Hyundai to demonstrate its ability. Best time for Dani Sordo over the 41,46 kilometres of the stage while Hayden Paddon set an amazing third time. Both crews demonstrated their will to score some precious points for the Korean manufacturer, which is still fighting for the second place with Citroën in the Championship. Fourth in the stage, Jari-Matti was increasing again his lead as Elfyn Evans couldn’t score better than the tenth best time.

Jari-Matti headed towards the Power Stage with a comfortable 32,7 sec. lead. The Power Stage was the target of teammate Sébastien Ogier as he could score some points after his disappointing first leg including a ten-minute penalty because of some gearbox issues. As usual the World Champion was stunning over the 16,74 kilometres of the final stage, setting the best time in front of Robert Kubica. Jari-Matti Latvala wins his 15th round in WRC and Elfyn Evans managed to keep the second place despite a disappointing 9th time in the Power Stage. Four different Manufacturers are holding the five first places of this Tour de Corse.

In the WRC2 classification Frenchman Julien Maurin (Ford Fiesta S2000) confirmed his lead over Esapekka Lappi  (Skoda Fabia R5) while Camilli benefited from Armin Kremer’s retirement and completes the podium with his Ford Fiesta R5.

Quentin Gilbert controlled the WRC3 and JWRC classifications during the entire day at the wheel of his Citroën DS3 R3T. With this victory he joins the very private club of Junior WRC Champions!

Veteran François Delecour, former winner of Tour de Corse in 1993, won the R-GT category and became the first winner of the R-GT Cup this weekend in Ajaccio with his Porsche.

Follow us on Twitter