A Year, A Picture: Tour de Corse 1974
Jean-Claude Andruet and Biche with a Lancia Stratos HF at the 1974 Tour de Corse © DPPI

A Year, A Picture: Tour de Corse 1974

20/06/2013

The year 1974 marks the second edition of the World Rally Championship. The Tour de Corse, organized for the 18th time, consecrates Jean-Claude Andruet, one of the most eclectic French drivers of his generation.

After Ajaccio the previous year, it is the northern city Bastia that gets the privilege in 1974 to host the departure and the arrival of the Rally. The start is given on Saturday 30th November, under a warm autumnal sunshine, and the whole competition benefits from the meteorological clemency of the “The Isle of Beauty”.

Jean-Pierre Nicolas gets back to his usual rhythm from the preceding year and takes the lead in the first special stage. Halfway through the rally, he loses his leadership to Jean-Claude Andruet who keeps it until the end and wins his third Tour de Corse, the first one inside a Lancia Stratos HF counting for the World Rally Championship.

However, this eighteenth edition of the Tour de Corse underlines the somewhat untrustworthy mechanical reliability of the engines at the time. Over a hundred entrants at the start, only a small dozen of them are indeed at the finish line…

The final podium is composed of:

  1. Jean-Claude ANDRUET – Michèle PETIT, dite « Biche » (Lancia Stratos HF)
  2. Jean-Pierre NICOLAS – Vincent LAVERNE (Alpine Renault A110 1800)
  3. Jean-Luc THERIER – Michel VIAL (Alpine Renault A310)

Discover the whole roll of honor of the Rallye de France…

Follow us on Twitter

Une Année, Une Photo : Tour de Corse 1974
Jean-Claude Andruet et Biche sur Lancia Stratos HF au Tour de Corse 1974 © DPPI

Une Année, Une Photo : Tour de Corse 1974

20/06/2013

L’année 1974 marque la deuxième édition du Championnat du Monde des Rallyes. Le Tour de Corse, organisé pour la 18ème fois, consacre Jean-Claude Andruet, l’un des pilotes français les plus éclectiques de sa génération.

Après Ajaccio l’année précédente, c’est Bastia qui est privilégiée en 1974 puisque le départ et l’arrivée s’effectuent dans la cité nordiste. Le départ est donné le samedi 30 novembre, sous un doux soleil automnal, et toute l’édition du rallye profite de la clémence météorologique de l’Île de Beauté.

Jean-Pierre Nicolas reprend ses bonnes habitudes de l’année précédente et s’installe en tête dans la première spéciale. À mi-course, il est cependant dépossédé de son leadership par Jean-Claude Andruet qui ne lâche alors plus le commandement et remporte son troisième Tour de Corse, le premier à bord d’une Lancia Stratos HF comptant pour le Championnat du Monde des Rallyes.

Cette dix-huitième édition du Tour de Corse met cependant en exergue la fiabilité mécanique parfois un peu « légère » des machines d’autrefois. Sur la centaine d’équipages au départ, seulement une petite douzaine d’entre eux sont en effet classés à l’arrivée…

Le trio de tête final est ainsi composé de :

  1. Jean-Claude ANDRUET – Michèle PETIT, dite « Biche » (Lancia Stratos HF)
  2. Jean-Pierre NICOLAS – Vincent LAVERNE (Alpine Renault A110 1800)
  3. Jean-Luc THERIER – Michel VIAL (Alpine Renault A310)

Retrouvez l’intégralité du palmarès du Rallye de France…

Suivez-nous sur Twitter